Lately I’ve been working on improving various aspects of my health, such as getting a good night sleep. I’m a little sad that my miBand is no longer charging, so let’s hope that I will like the latest Misfit Shine I picked up to help me track my sleep. Here’s our interview with Morgan Baker, DORMEO Canada’s sleep expert.

Enough Sleep
What were your ways to find out what your personal length and quality of sleep needed?

Most importantly, I follow a healthy lifestyle including physical activity (whether it’s playing or going for a walk with my son, going to the gym), preparing home-cooked meals for my family, following a sleep routine and investing in sleep products that are created to promote better, quality sleep.

Achieving Quality Sleep
What is the sleep expert’s daily evening and morning habits for getting ready to get a good night’s sleep? Top 3 – 5 tips?

There are many ways to track your sleep and physical activity. Whatever works for you, keep doing it! I currently don’t use any sleep apps or fitness devices.

Over the years, I have learned that in order to feel my best, I require 6-8 hours of sleep each night. I have been this way since I was a young child, and especially now with a 5-year old at home. Sleep is critical for me to perform my best both as a mom and as a business woman.

Suggested sleep tips:

  • Before bed, make it a priority to calm your body and mind. I suggest practicing meditation or calming activities. Try listening to soothing music, thinking about calming thoughts, reading a book or having a warm bath. This will help relax and prepare your body for bedtime.
  • Caring for a family and being on the road, I’ve realized that the quality of your diet affects the quality of your sleep. Take the time to prepare home-cooked, nutritious meals – your body will thank you, and you’ll move faster throughout the day. Plan ahead, and download food apps on your Smart Phone for quick and healthy meal inspirations.
  • At DORMEO®, we know the importance of keeping cool. Overheating during the night proves to be a leading complaint/frustration. Try turning down the heat, and keeping your bedroom temperature around 18°C for a more comfortable sleep. Consider a mattress with breathable memory foam, like DORMEO’s innovative and revolutionary pillows and mattresses made with breathable patented Octaspring® Technology..
  • Exercise regularly, but avoid working out 3 hours before bedtime. Exercise does amazing things for the body. It helps to reduce stress and anxiety, while improving self-confidence, sleep quality and brainpower! Finding time to exercise is vital for your overall health and well-being.

Sleeping Comfortably
Why is it so important to have the right pillow and mattress for optimal Sleep?
It’s critical that you make sleep a priority. The average adult requires 7-9 hours of sleep per night. During sleep, the body consolidates the day’s learning into memory and improves your ability to absorb and remember everyday skills.
Depending on the pillow and mattress you’re looking for, some suggestions:
A. Support – what level of support your body/neck/shoulders requires? Firm, soft?
B. Comfort – what is comfortable to you/ your partner?
C. Cooling technology – do you overheat? Do you find yourself warm at night? Consider a mattress that offers cooling technology and breathability
D. Resistance for ease of movement – do you move/ does your partner move? Consider a mattress that won’t disrupt your sleep if you/your partner moves around throughout the night, or wakes up earlier in the morning than you do.

Visit Octaspring.ca to learn more about the DORMEO Difference!. Join the conversation on Facebook: Octaspring CA and Twitter: @DormeoCanada.

DORMEO is sold exclusively at Sleep Country Canada.

