This is part of our recent Winter Travel Weekend posts (#WinterPDXnow) chronicling our visit down to Portland during #PDXnow #Collabofest sponsored by Travel Portland.

When opportunity presents itself, go for it.

“Yumi, you’re going to love Portland. How have you not gone there already?” “Are you going down there for shopping because there’s no tax?” “There’s so much to do there, it will appeal to both of your polar opposite sides of Uptown Luxury Brands and One-of-kind, Local, Indie tastes!”

We learned that Travel Portland was sponsoring Base Camp Brewing’s Collabofest after we had met the teams in Vancouver during the Portland Zine Media tour.

I opted for a later flight as I had to wrap up earlier Friday in the day in Downtown Vancouver. I jumped on the Canada Line straight to YVR, breezed through security (Thank you Nexus!) and waited in the smaller wing for my flight to Portland with a short stopover in Seattle. Overall the journey by air from Vancouver to Portland was pretty smooth.

Hotel Eastlund

Finding and hopping aboard the Max train from the airport was very easy. Being unfamiliar with Portland’s Central Eastside, I realized I got off a stop early and wandered along a couple blocks until I spotted the Hotel Eastlund sign.
Coming from NE Martin Luther King Jr Blvd, I realized I didn’t know where to enter the lobby at 12:00am in the morning. I hope in the future that they will have small lit up signs with lobby on all corners of the hotel block.

As I stepped into the lobby, I was amazed at the interior of the lobby. Hotel Eastlund, being very very new is known to be “Modern chic in the neighbourhood of Portland’s hip Central Eastside.”(How did they know I’m such an Eastside Gal?).

Signing in was a breeze – it’s cool they had a tablet for us to sign in for reducing the use of paper copies.

I was tempted to lay back in the very large seating areas of the lobby, but knowing that I was attempting to sample 16 breweries the next day, I hurried straight toward the elevator.

HOTELEastlundPDX-

There was a skating competition happening (busy weekend for Portland). The only way I was able to tell was from the well wishes I found pasted on a door as I sped through the trippy, black and white lobby.

Tapping my door, I was greeted with the cozy heat from entering my room (so happy from warming up from being outside). I hope my neighbours didn’t hear me go “Ooooo” as I made my first steps into the hallway passing by the beautiful bathroom and sinking into the plush bed.

HOTELEastlundPDX--2

I was happy to be settling into my first trip to Portland, Oregon at Hotel Eastland, especially being a huge fan of bold colours and contemporary art. Sitting up in my bed, I noticed there was a bottle of wine and a mini box sitting on the lamp across.

I loved how they welcomed us with a bottle of red wine and Moonstruck chocolates.


As I was in and out a lot, I wasn’t able at this time to enjoy the baked goods of Citizen Baker and the rooftop restaurant Altabira. As my flight arrived late, I asked Brian to cover for late night.

Every little detail adds up to a positive cozy experience. There was a cable to charge your Apple or Android phone available in my room to plug my phone in, and the alarm clock had an iPhone connection available to charge. For coffee, there were both Keurig coffee pods  and Tazo teas ready to go. Mmmm.

Usually I’m not a fan showering in some hotels because of how hard the water can be. Hotel Eastlund provides paya organic shampoo, conditioner and body wash and I was surprised to find my hair soft and shiny for my stay in Portland.

Hotel Eastlund is super closer to the convention centre and the stadium, just right across the street. The only need for improvement was although it was super close to Downtown Portland, the airport, and other areas to visit, I would have liked more signs lit up for times I’m wandering around in the dark looking for Hotel Eastlund.

Thank you to the team at Travel Portland for arranging and sponsoring HelloVancity for our first visit to Portland.

About Hotel Eastlund

Unwind in a Forbes four-star room, surrounded by luxurious amenities, clean lines, and attentive personal service. Enjoy a delicious meal or local craft beer at our rooftop bar and restaurant.Whether you are in downtown Portland for business or pleasure, Hotel Eastlund offers boutique hotel comfort and class with Northwest hospitality, directly across from the Oregon Convention Center and next to Moda Center.

Travel Portland

When’s the best time to visit Portland? Right now. Tomorrow. Ten days from now. Because every second of every day, something is happening here that isn’t happening anywhere else.

