It’s already 2016, how are you doing with your new year’s resolutions? Personally I’ve never been a strong advocate for new year’s resolutions, as I believe goal setting and achievement is best to do all year long, especially with our own habits.

Here are my 10 favourite quotes from Randall Bell’s (Ph.D.) latest book, Rich Habits, Rich Life.

RichHabits-Book-quotes--2The four cornerstones of Rich Habits, Rich Life include Me, We, Do, and Be.  Dr. Bell shares an Albert Einstein quote that, “it is not the ultimate goal to become a “success” in terms of accumulating power, prestige or more stuff, but rather become a person of value.” We all define success in many different areas like personal, professional, family, career, business… and I believe building value in each of these four cornerstones bring abundance in opportunities and success.

RichHabits-Book-quotes--10As much as I’m always curious to learn about all the people I get to meet through Hello Vancity, friends and family, I always feel a little sad for a person I meet who is bitter about their situation. Whether the person is open-minded or stubborn to stay wallowing in their bitterness, I always show empathy and also share a different perspective. For the ambitious, often times we would laugh over HIMYM’s Barney’s saying of “Challenge Accepted”.

RichHabits-Book-quotes--9Friends confide in me sharing about their breakups, divorces and splits in their personal and professional lives. When I share that I continue to stay friends with the former significant other who decided monogamy wasn’t their thing, many of my friends react with, “No way, I could never do that!”

It’s not as if I made that decision the day the news was shared, and of course it took some time to process the pain. In that emotionally challenging situation, I was comforted by strong supportive friends and also pushed the focus on serving others. Overtime, I learned the value of forgiveness across many relationships. Hey, it’s not like we’re born perfect!

RichHabits-Book-quotes--6

RichHabits-Book-quotes--4

This quote reminds me of the butterfly story shared by Jeff Levitan at our annual convention in Las Vegas. We forget that we need to fight against struggles to grow and become stronger. Another perspective is to remember to strive for progress over perfection, a concept that I share everyday as regular updates on progress carry more weight than a one-time delivery at the “finish” of a project.

RichHabits-Book-quotes--5
Marshmallow Study

40 Years of Stanford Research with Marshmallows- The studies above do make one thing clear: if you want to succeed at something, at some point you will need to find the ability to be disciplined and take action instead of becoming distracted and doing what’s easy. Success in nearly every field requires you to ignore doing something easier (delaying gratification) in favor of doing something harder…
RichHabits-Book-quotes--7When you think about musicians and artists, how do many of them maintain their popularity? I find the most talented artists always need to work with an agent, manager or a team in order to gain a larger following, as a lot of hard-work and daily to-dos matter for growth.

RichHabits-Book-quotes--3

I admit when I learned about a particular business opportunity, I was a little fanatical talking about it with friends and family. Over time I learned it’s fun to share about what we do for families, and know when to move on when those eyes start fluttering around.

RichHabits-Book-quotes-

