WordCamp Vancouver,
originally uploaded by Retrocactus.

WordCamp Vancouver

WordPress is great for a lot reasons, and I found many more reasons to take a deeper look at wordpress.org.

Brought together by Tazzu, WordPress enthusiasts and experts gathered at the Network Hub in Downtown to talk about various topics relating to WordPress.

People were so packed, I think this should have been promoted as a “WordPress Work Camp”.

Excellent details updated live of the highly popular gathering was excellently uploaded by Miss604 herself.
See post here >

By the halfway point, I couldn’t recall the feeling of my bum from sitting on the floor jotting down notes as speakers presented their advice and tips. That feeling was forgotten when most of us headed to the Flux in Gastown for an after party.

One of the things I won’t forget is something I’m sure many creative professionals have encountered in their lives.

Remember as a kid, all the grown-ups ask you what did you want to be when you grow up? The question was “be”, not “do”. The answer always had to fit a traditional profession, a role, a label.  Without that, how can one be assured to have a steady income?

I was chatting with Jeremy Lim as we were grabbing seats.  One topic lead to another, and I mentioned something the “Richmond blogging legend.”

“Oh yah, Vicky ripped out this article of the local Richmond paper for Travis and I to read about.  I quickly glanced at it and didn’t think much of it at that time.  I don’t remember who it was, but I remember that this particular blogger was making serious cash from his blog…” I said.

“Really?  Well, Johnny’s from Richmond.”
Jeremy then waved Johnny over.  “Hey, did you know you’re known as the Richmond legend?”

Haha, my cue to gush- “Oh! You’re him.  You were that guy in the paper!”
John Chow gave a quick talk about monetizing your blog earlier at the Network Hub.
For a second I felt like a total idiot for not recalling earlier about that article.

Then that led to him mentioning his picture and article splashed all over the front page of one of the local Chinese papers.  “I showed my mom this article and said, now you can understand what I do for a living.”

“My mom read it and still couldn’t believe it.  You can’t make money doing this! she said.”

I found it frustrating to explain what I do these days as a creative professional to my parents.  I guess because the results I generate from working can’t fit in a traditional sense. A doctor can say that they’re a doctor and generally an image of someone in a white coat, writing prescriptions is conjured up to understand.

This generation I learned that anything can be monetized and become a form of cash-flow.   It’s just a challenge sometimes to explain your current job in a small sentence because it can just be so new and untraditional.  Not everyone understands what “CMS” stands for or what it means.

I just have to lean back, smile, and accept the fact that what I love to do and get paid for can’t be easily explained, understood and accepted right away.

Oh well.

