Slipping out of the morning session of Trendsetters, I was excited to be on my way to Opus Hotel on Davie to see Joshua Davis yesterday.

He was holding a workshop on the last day of Vidfest, and I wasn’t really sure of what to expect. Looking at his recent photo of himsef posted on Flickr, he looks so scary in his picture- I thought it was going to be an ultimate serious tone for the workshop that afternoon. For the strangest reason, I also pictured him “lecturing” with a British accent…

Wow- he’s hilarious.
I’ve never giggled so much at a workshop or in class.

After he was introduced, he showed us a YouTube vid of Stevie Wonder’s drum solo.
I bet halfway through it, everyone was wondering why Josh was showing this.
It was an analogy of Actionscript 1.0- and I quote JD –
“How there was a shitload of stuff.”

He went through his past and history, about fine art to where he is now.
When he mentioned Linux, PERL and all these other programming languages, my eyes glazed over.

I had to rush back to BCIT in Burnaby after the four-hour session.
I did want to attend the Happy Hour downstairs at Elixir, but I hate going back on my word about being late for my evening class.

I’m inspired to take what I learned from that afternoon and incorporate it into my future motion works.

Especially his story about how his first time moving to New York, he encountered the subway. When he first got on, he was so excited. In his younger years he was always excited to ride the subway, “hi-fiving all the passengers.”

“Whee heee, no seatbelts! We don’t strap in!”
Back in his hometown, he never rode a subway before, so the only thing he can compare the subway to was a roller-coaster.

On the screen, while JD was sharing his story was, “It’s hard to see your environment when you’re in your environment. Look for the visible invisible.”

Overall, I left smiling thinking about his reason for the need to create.
“…I know you guys think I’m rich, or I’m a millionaire or something. But I’m not.
Ok, so I do work on big projects, but those don’t come often. I only do like 2-3 a year…
I love teaching students at where I am now, at the New York school of Design, but almost all of the students I encounter come into design for the wrong reason. Don’t do it for the awards, fame, the money…”

“Sometime I’m on panels or juries for design competitions.
I’m always asked,”Why did this person win, why did this person not win?”

…My answer is , “Because that person (pointing at the winner) looked like he did that piece not to win, but because he wanted to do the piece.”

“I think I have a problem… like OCD or something…. I have this need to…
CREATE….I don’t know why… it’s like I wake up and I have to make something…”

That need.
I thought I was the only crazy creative person.
Looks like us “crazies” with that need span across the globe.
What a dysfunctional family.

