Barenaked Ladies on a Stick LIVE USB

“I can see the ass through the back of your pants!”

Steve Page of the BNL as
Ed tries to explain his 3 pants scenario at the show.

I’ve waited 10 years to lose my voice screaming and cheering at the live performance of the Barenaked Ladies!!!! My hands are so sore from clapping and slapping along and my voice is so hoarse.

It’s rare that I’m totally focused on a concert, because I’m usually taking pictures and trying to get crappy mpeg mini movies of my favorite songs. I wish all artists would follow the Barenaked Ladies by offering their live concert on an afforable flash stick right after the performance. I have such a forgetful mind, even with the concerts I’ve been too, I would be snapping a lot of pictures and getting sound bites, but not totally focusing on the performance. This USB stick is so cool- flashing red LED as I plug it in the USB port. Now I’ve got the whole concert in my iTunes library.

Tom Swick was the opening act. Angel and I were wondering why the camera pointed at him and his band remained at a very wide shot of the stage- we were wondering where the main camera guy was. I wanted to get a closer look at Tom Swick- he sounds pretty great.

After the opening act, the screens onstage had some advertising. BNL is so supportive of great causes, especially those that better the world around us. They had booths of WorldVision and other great environmental causes- Barenaked Planet and Reverb. And soon there was a cute clip of a scrawling of the title of their latest album, Barenaked Ladies are Me. They put on a play on the words- Barenaked Ladies are Mental. Barenaked Ladies are Mediocore. The ones I remembered were- Barenaked Ladies are Meat. are Meat Balls. are Meat Loaf.

“All I want is a bald to help me out… when I get into some trouble, all I need is a bald man to help me out…”

The poor bald guys on the crew- they had to parade up onto stage as Steve and Ed starting belting bald bald bald parade, after one of the techs, Tim M, had helped Ed with his wardrobe malfunction onstage.

BNL played a lot of their hits, and some songs from their new album. Because technically, they released about 27 songs on 2 CDs available online (which I pre-ordered before they officially made it available online of course), but the half of the songs are on one CD- Barenaked Ladies Me.  The second half will come on a second CD, entitled Barenaked Ladies are Men. (February 9th).  Too bad they didn’t sing all my favorite tracks off the second part of the album(s)- Down to Earth and Quality.

“Don’t forget yer tam-booooorrr-eeeneee”

Steve quotes what Kevin of BNL said to Bette Midler one time ago (the ‘tambourine’ story)

They came for two encores. I nearly cried at the second encore- I was just so happy to see these guys live, even though not up close to the stage like at other concerts. (Think row 24, but section 108.) It was worth it. They better come back soon, and next time I’m going to try to get seats within the first 10 rows from the stage so Ed, Steve, Tyler, Kevin and Jimmy can hear me screaming like the little hysterical girl I am.  I’m going to be listening to my USB key of the live concert for a long time- so don’t mind my humming and swaying as I’m on the skytrain.

